By Rick Gayler
Scorched Earth 1942 Scenario: Rule 41B2 states forts and airfields "are placed the same as the player's units, except that they may not be placed in hexes where they could not have been built.' This is a deliberately broad statement and allows for placement in pockets, in fact, if airfields in particular couldn't be placed in the pockets, the isolated units in them would almost immediately evaporate. Note 41B2b states that all isolated units have been at least four turns out of regular supply! This question correctly assumes this missing sentence in rule 41B2a: 'When eliminating attack strength points as required to meet the loss specification, reducing a division to cadre strength counts as eliminating the full strength of the division." All activities such as extracting the required losses, reducing Soviet divisions to cadre strength, converting Soviet 3-6 rifle divisions to 4-6 rifle divisions, selecting units to be withheld during frontline deployment, activating air units, choosing Soviet air units for Guards status, and randomly selecting air units to be inoperative should be done before deployment. However, allocating additional forts and airfields built from resource points may be done during deployment. This means that when the OB allows up to 9 non-divisional units from Army Group North to be placed in the Demyansk Pocket, the cadres of units reduced to satisfy the loss requirement would be eligible, since they are now non-divisional units. No, as trucks are not listed as non-divisional units in rule 3A2. Ben Knight gave the following answer in TEN #6. "No. (Or if you do, it starts depleted.)" For divisions, only if they were listed on the OB as being in the pocket to begin with. Note such divisions must be later placed in the pocket. (A pocket may not be vacated through withholding the units from intial deployment!) For non-divisional units, only if doing so does not exceed the maximum of non-divisional REs specified by the OB. If rule 39G1 is being used, bombers designated as transports may deliver air supply, including that mentioned in rule 42B2b. As a general rule clarification, any bomber being used as a transport or towing a glider during an air phase may not perform any bombing missions that turn. However, notice that the preexisting supply mentioned in 42B2b was delivered in the Mar II 42 turn, and so does not dictate the use of any bombers as transports during the Apr I 42 turn. The road to Petrozavodsk has been upgraded. Other than this, the OB indicates no other upgrading has occurred. Why not allow RPs to be spent for this? The designer felt the scenario worked best without this provision. However, if you want to experiment with this, go right ahead. No. Yes, both sides may do so. Such plans are made prior to the deployment of any units. Even though units deploying in the 1942 scenario may not be deployed broken down except in weather zones A and G, special operations may be planned for the above regiments prior to deployment. The German RR engineers would be deployed with the Rear Area Forces as part of the Occupation Forces. The Finnish unit would be deployed along with the other Finnish forces. There are no changes to the regauged rail lines listed in the scenario due to adding these units. Grand EuropaCadres have ZOCs in some games and some weather zones. In Scorched Earth they have ZOCs only in weather zones A and G. In WitD they have ZOCs everywhere. In Balkan Front they have no ZOCs at all. A question like this needs to be framed in the context of a given game in the series, and not as a general question, since an overall ruling for all E u ro p a has not yet been established. Balkan FrontCadres are 1 RE in size per rule 3A3. The only Europa game which used REs for stacking was DNO/ UNT. What you are really asking is "Are cadres considered divisional or non- divisional units?' Rule 3A 1 states that cadres are non-divisional in size. No. Yes, the capacity of a temporary or permanent airfield is in addition to the intrinsic airbase capacity of any fortress, reference, or dot city in the hex. No, rail and naval movement is calculated normally when used in combination with admin. movement. Note that the wording of rule 6Bs first bullet clearly segregates admin. movement from naval and rail movement, but does allow it to be used in combination with them. The rules as written permit the use of admin. movement when crossing a narrow straits hexside. Narrow straits is clearly a different type of hexside than major river (see the TEC), and is not listed in the restrictions under the fifth bullet of rule 6B. You can not use the road movement rate to move from 15B:0517 to 0417, as these hexes are not connected by a transportation line. Rule 7A states OA unit may use the transportation line movement rate only when moving in hexes directly connected to one another by the line.' For example, the movement cost for an infantry division to enter hex 0417 from 0517 would be 4 MPs: 2 MPs for entering the rough hex and +2 MPs for crossing the narrow straits hexside. Hex 14A:4110 is a rough hex with a mountain hexside along 4110/4209. Attacks into the hex which cross the mountain hexside would suffer the effects of both te rra in types; that is, the defender would get a -1 for the rough terrain, and the attacking units (except mountain units) which attack across the mountain hexside would be halved. I suspect what is causing the confusion is the fact that the mountain hexside coloring is a little off the hexside, but this was done so as not to obscure the fortified hexside symbol. This is also clarified in the Balkan Front errata sheet. 1. The use of a railroad for rail movement in that same movement phase? Yes. 2. The use of a port for naval transport in that same movement phase? No, see rule 26A3, second paragraph. 3. The use of a beach hex without having to declare an amphibious invasion? Yes. Yes, and here's how it works. Rule 17C states that "a captured airbase immediately becomes a friendly airbase and may be used from the instant of its capture.' Furthermore, rule 25B states that "if the hex is not occupied by enemy units, then undisrupted airborne units gain immediate ownership of any airbase in the hex' Therefore, it follows that other non-airborne units being transported by air could land at any airbase just acquired by an undisrupted airborne unit either during the same mission resolution step, or during the immediately following air return step if the transport desired to remain at the newly acquired base. Note that if there is an enemy unit in the hex containing the air base, even if only a position AA unit, then the airborne unit will have to right it during the combat phase and so will not gain ownership (dependent on the outcome of the combat) in time for any other friendly non-airborne units to land there during that player turn. You're misreading the OB: this is a three-for-three conversion, not three one-for-one conversions. All three units to be converted must be stacked in the same hex, in supply, and out of enemy ZOC. Then, if desired, they may be converted in the owning player's initial phase en masse to the three new units shown. Note that this is a good deal, as the Greeks receive an extra 4 attack and defense strength points, an additional unit with a cadre side, and lose only marginal mountain capability. You say you've lost one of the units shown? Remember the preamble to rule 29: "On the order of battle, unit identifications are given for historical interest and may be ignored.' So just substitute any other unit of the same type and strength and make the conversion. By the way, this conversion represents a significant reorganization within the Greek army which occurred on Jan II 41. Yes. When two or more units of different type or strength convert into one or more new units, the units to be converted must be stacked in the same hex When the conversion occurs, all converting units are removed and the new unit(s) are placed in their hex. This treatment is necessary to avoid "teleportationo of units around the board (such as removing one border brigade in Crete and the other in Albania and having the new division show up in Crete). This treatment applies for other games as well, for example, the Slovakian conversion listed for the Aug II 41 turn of Scorched Earth. Note that this treatment would not apply to the Soviet Guards conversions listed for the Sep II 41 turn of SE (for example), or to similar cases where a number of identical units convert into an equal amount of indentical new units. In such cases, the conversions can be conducted one at a time in different hexes, or even in different turns, if desired. Also note that there is a typo in the OB for this conversion: the X1 Border X should be a 1-2-6, not a 1- 6. It is best to answer this question "yes' for simplicity's sake. For example, when Yugoslavia joins the Allied side, the Allied rail capacity increases to 20 REs per turn. This rail capacity may be used in subsequent turns by any Allied units. No, nor destroy it. Axis naval transport directly between the Adriatic and Aegean sea zones is not allowed. This is intentional, due to British naval domination of the Ionian Sea. No--the reference "...only German intervention forces... ff refers to Axis forces, not Allied. Allied air units may fly patrol attacks and interception missions normally during the surprise turn. At the instant it joins the Axis. Oh ohl! I can certainly see how you might think that. But here's how it actually works: The "-2 VPs per REff mentioned in the VP chart only applies to those rules which specifically call for that penalty. These are Rules 28A1a, 28A1b, 28B1c, 28B1d, and 28D. Note that Rule 28B1d is missing a paragraph of text. "Check the garrison at the start of each Allied initial phase. If garrison requirements are not met, the Allied player loses 2 VPs for each missing RE.' As for the Metaxas Line, in lieu of VPs, the Greek player suffers the penalties listed in Rule 28BIb instead, and these would apply on Greek Turn One. (However, note that a Bulgarian Intervention roll is not allowed on the Nov I 40 turn. By the Nov II 40 turn the Greeks should have their garrison units in place.) No, it means one division plus any non-divisional units up to the normal stacking limits of the hex, or any amount of non-divisional units (only) up to the normal stacking limits of the hex. Tune in next time for ten rules that didn't make it into FitE. Back to Europa Number 20 Table of Contents Back to Europa List of Issues Back to MagWeb Master Magazine List © Copyright 1991 by GR/D This article appears in MagWeb (Magazine Web) on the Internet World Wide Web. Other articles from military history and related magazines are available at http://www.magweb.com |