GENERAL

Cards in the pack:

We were using one plane each flown by a junior ace and are ignoring Archie fire for the moment. Once off blinds our pack consisted of:

Plane card for each side
Character card for each player
Ace bonus move card for each side
Fire card for each plane
------------------------------

Beginner mistakes include getting into an uncontrolled spin because you try to hard and trying to dogfight too closely. Better to take your time and get your line right then make a devastating attack from distance. We found good tactics for newbie Algy players and Sprog pilots were climb and stay out of trouble. Let the more aggressive 
players exhaust their ammo and wear themselves out trying too hard. If you can, take the 'Altitude Bonus' and use it to descend upon an unsuspecting victim who is already damaged.

-------------------------------

 1. Do you use a tea break in Algernon like in IABSM? I assumed  that you just worked through all the cards. It isn't mentioned in  the rules.

No Tea Break matey. Just work your way through the whole pack.

2. We had a critical hit which resulted in a loss of control by the pilot. Does the plane do the 2 level dive immediately or at the start of the players next card?

Immediately. At the start of the players next turn he tries to recover. Pray that he isn't a sprog!


FLYING AROUND

1. Can I combine a dive or climb with an easy turn? Please let me know.

Yep.

2. What if a pilot making an additional move, say on his Ace card, wants to climb or change face, but has already reached the limit of his rate of climb or manoeuvrability rating? Is he allowed to? 

Yep; after all, his move rate is per turn too. Extra chips / cards are in effect giving that aircraft an extra turn.
3. Do you always have to roll the D4 variable or can you choose not to roll D4? 

You can choose not to if you wish.



4. Can you choose to fly slower than your base speed?

No, movement options are limited to base speed or base speed +d4.

5. If a plane is at its ceiling can it perform a loop manoeuvre to end up in the same place?

I don't think it's explicitly mentioned anywhere, but I wouldn't allow 
it.

I have a few newbie questions mainly in relation to Manoeuvres.

6. I assume it is permissible to use a range of the illustrated manoeuvres, so you might perform an easy turn and then a sideslip in the same "turn", and you just take a control test before you perform each manoeuvre which requires one?

Yes, but as we discovered on Friday, the manoeuvrability rating also defines the number of facing changes that can be made. You need to watch that.

7. I note that you are obliged to use all your pips.

Oh, yes!
-----------------

When a flight / individual plane movement card comes up it does have to move. Usually just when you don't want it.......

Our group now plays it that a character card does not allow you to move or fire any more frequently in a turn, just that it gives you the opportunity to do it earlier if required. For example, if a character card comes up first and you move a plane with it then ignore the plane's move card when it comes out. Ditto the fire card. If the move card and fire card comes out first then ignore the character card as you have already taken the action. Of course, if the character card comes out first you can ignore it if it is not worth using. That's how we do it but others may have alternatives.

Aces are different as they have bonus cards. The bonus cards can be used to move or fire regardless of what has already happened. You will come to love your own aces and loathe your opponent's......
-----------------

The speed is not adjustable, per se. The only variable is the use of 
the 1D4 (remember you do not have to use it). You can slow yourself down by manoeuvres but generally the speed you move is the printed speed with a 1D4 roll if desired. This means that it can be hard to get into a good firing position but in a flashing, whirling melee this seems quite appropriate to me. Aces can use the 1D4 more effectively so they will have less of a problem in this regard.
-----------------
8. When making a hard turn the rules state the plane drops 1 level but the diagrams of the movement schedules doesn't list any altitude loss. We played that in any turn a plane made any number of changes of hex face through hard turning it dropped a 
single level, is this right?

That's certainly what was intended. Multiple turns would otherwise see the plane hurtling towards the ground. 

9. Can a plane climb at the start of a move but then lose altitude through hard turns 
bringing it back to the same level it started the move at? I thought yes but my opponent thinks not!

Yes it can, but of course this is restricted by its movement limit. 

10. If you roll more 1s than 5s or 6s in firing and the guns jam do you still count the hits you may have scored?

Yes you do. 

11. When you get a bonus move say for the highest ace is this bonus move the standard basic speed or do you still add a dice roll?

You still add the dice roll.

12. If a plane climbs at the start of the move and then the highest aces card comes up 
presumably it can take advantage of this having climbed in that same turn?

Yup.

TAILING

1. If you have got on the tail of the enemy with the last card of the turn, they are then reshuffled, the first card out next turn is your move, what happens then? 

You are permitted to ignore your movement card if you so wish. You move when the target you are on the tail of moves. However, you can use your card to break off.

2. Are you assumed to have the same number of points to spend to maintain your position on his tail, or how could you close the range and improve your position?

A good question. We would play that faster planes i.e. A Camel on the tail of a Fokker Dr1 would gain one hex per turn but would not allow it to overshoot. I know some would play it that way but I think it’s more appropriate for BTH than Algy. Just my personal observation.


3. If he tries to shake you off but goes into a spin, are you assumed to be just gently following him down until he recovers (assuming he doesn't crash first!) but only if/when he recovers can you have a pop at him?

We allow you to fire at him when spinning but count him as making 
a hard manoeuvre which affects your firing dice number.

4. The first paragraph of 8.9 says "If the attacker fails the manoeuvre test he is...shaken off and moves straight forward his full move". As he was trying to stay on the tail what is "his move" defined as? His card may or may not have already come up this turn - is it the number of pips which the aircraft he was trying to tail had?

We would use his basic speed rating. For example; in the case of 
a Camel 7 hexes.
5. I take it that if, say, a Junior Ace is tailing another Junior Ace then both of them automatically make their hard manoeuvres because of their flying skill but that the tailing pilot then has to take his Stay on the Tail test with his +1 luck bonus. 

Yup.

6. Yesterday we had a question whereby faster tailing planes, if they manage to stay on the tail, can close the tailing distance by the difference in their speed and I like that mechanism. What if it is the other way around though? If the tailed plane is faster ought it not to be able to break out of the tailing situation by just putting on top
speed? I think it ought to be able to increase the tailing distance by the difference in basic speeds and that if that then puts it more than the three tailing hexes in front of it's pursuer then it should break the tail. Any thoughts?

That's how we do it and I suspect it is the generally accepted convention. A faster plane can "close the gap" and a slower plane will fall back until it is out of tailing range - it can still fire, of course, but with 5 seconds and not 8.

7. I have a question about tailing in ALGY. Well mostly about staying on the tail. It states that if the target plane performs some tricky or hard manoeuvres then, because the tailing pilot has to perform similar manoeuvres then they have to then make a keep on the tail test. What if the tailing pilot is a veteran or better? They don't have to make pilot rolls for manoeuvres so, if you follow the logic, they don't have to make tailing tests either and therefore tail automatically.

The scores needed to stay on the tail are adjusted by luck. Therefore Top Aces add +2 and Junior Aces and Veterans add +1 to their D6 die rolls.

As I see it the rationale behind the MUST TEST to stay on the tail is that the attacking pilot is under pressure to essentially keep the target plane in his sights.

Under normal circumstances Veteran and above pilots could make these tricky or hard manoeuvres without needing to test to do so but under battle conditions it’s different.

Once you are tailed, only by failing a "Staying on the Tail test" will the tailing plane be shaken off (or if it is fired at). If the tailing plane is faster then it may close the gap by the difference in speeds and some people play that this can result in an overshoot 
but I do not use this option.

8. If a plane ends its move three hexes directly behind a target and passes the getting on tail test does it move to the hex directly behind or does it stay in place the same number of hexes away? Can the pursuit plane get any closer in subsequent 
moves, say if his base speed is higher?

It stays the same number of hexes away. It can get close if it is faster, it can get further away (and drop off the tail) if it is slower.


9. If the target plane flies a succession on hard moves to throw off the tailer do you test the tailing plane after each particular move or wait until the target has used all his PIPs and flown all his moves. I ask as we had an instance of a target having 
total structural failure on his second spin but the tailing plane had not yet tried to 
follow through the first - I  think he should have before the target continued with his aerobatic display. Which is right, after each manoeuvre or end of whole move? If he fails to follow his target at any manoeuvre should he just fly straight ahead from the start point of the entire move or from the stage in the move where he lost contact?

Test each time.

10. To get on the tail do you have to be directly behind the target within three hexes? The rules mention the shaded boxes i.e. three behind the target but then mention moving in 
from the outer columns. Are all the boxes shown in the diagram positions in which you can take the get-on-tail test and the shaded boxes the positions you move to if successful?

Yes, only from directly behind. It looks like a bit of Bag the Hun (on which Algy is based) has got stuck in the document. 


11. We had one instance where a tailing plane had a ceiling of 10 so the target climbed up to its permissible ceiling of 12, we assumed the tailing plane automatically flies straight on having lost contact.

Yup. 

TAIL GUNNERS

Rear gunners, right. All I did was make another roll on the pilot ability chart for the Observer with the proviso that a Sprog pilot cannot have a Sprog Observer. If you get that result, then roll again. 

I'd read somewhere that they tried to avoid putting new pilots and observers together to help them gain experience from those who'd survived a few flights.

The big thing to watch with tail gunners is that, unless you are an Ace, taking fire from a rear gunner means you are shaken from the tail.

They can cause a lot of problems, particularly if the odd one or two is a Junior Ace Observer.

BOMBING/STRAFING/RECCE

The observer needs to spot the target area on his card. The next turn of his card will enable him to call (using the morse wire dangly thing) the artillery. The next card gets to spot the fall of shot; success with a 10 or more on 2 dice with plus 1 adjustment to the throw after the first successful attempt. As long as the spotting rules mean that your flight needs to stay in reasonable proximity to the target to reliably see, you will force the pilot to circuit the area realistically. Of course any interruption to the above process: AA, enemy aircraft engaging your plane, etc, will mean you have to start again.
 

Victory: if you succeed in getting accurate fire on target - you win!

-----------------

To be honest artillery spotting was *very* slow in WWI - you could pretty much cover it by requiring the 2-seater to spend the entire game flying in figures of eight; if it's driven off or shot down you lose, if it manages to stay on station you win. 

I suppose you could have it fly it's figure eight, and each turn roll a d6; 5 or 6 and it's ranged the first gun in and can start with the second next turn. Only after all 4 guns in the battery have been ranged in, the battery then shoots, and the observer wins....


I'd be tempted to be more prescriptive than that; the actual routine 
was a figure of eight, as the spotter needed to see the friendly battery as well as the target (the spotter's radio was transmit only, so messages from the battery were by means of appropriately arranged cloth panels) - accordingly the spotter ought to be 
effectively shuttling back and forth between firer and target.


Additionally the observing aircraft should fly at level 3 or 4 to successfully spot (same height as for aerial photos) and only be able to make easy manoeuvres whilst spotting and has to stay within say five hexes of target.

-------------------

The area needing strafing is marked on a map. To successfully strafe planes need to be at altitude level 1. To strafe one hex uses up 5 seconds of ammunition. (via the rules) Scout planes may also carry small bombs for use on such missions. Scout planes with bombs only move at half distance in the move of their bombing run (after 
adjusting modifiers) and must finish at altitude 1 or 2.

